Uganda goalkeeper Onyango Is Africa Number one

Goalkeeper Denis Onyango will spearhead Uganda’s assault on the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) title following the announcement of their squad for the finals on Thursday. Onyango won the 2016 African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) Award at the Glo-CAF Awards 2016 in Abuja,

Uganda will take inspiration from the 29-year-old goalkeeper, who helped Mamelodi Sundowns, of South Africa win the 2016 African Champions League in October.

Uganda are returning to the finals in Gabon after an absence of almost four decades.

His performances have made Onyango a finalist for the Confederation of African Football’s award for the best player on the continent.

Onyango’s achievements have already seen him named Uganda’s Footballer of the Year and he is among 18 foreign-based players from an eclectic mix of countries in the 23-man squad.

These include Iceland, Lebanon, Finland, Vietnam and the U.S.

Uganda last played at the Nations Cup in 1978 when they finished runners-up, and they will make their return in Group D and start in Port Gentil on Jan. 17 against Ghana.

The squad consists of:

Goalkeepers: Salim Jamal Magoola (Al-Merreikh, Sudan), Robert Odongkara (St George, Ethiopia) and Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa).

Defenders are Timothy Awany (Kampala Capital City Authority, Uganda), Shafiq Batambuze (Tusker FC, Kenya), Denis Iguma (Al Ahed, Lebanon), Isaac Isinde (St George, Ethiopia) and  Murshid Juuko (Simba, Tanzania).

The others included Joseph Ochaya (Kampala Capital City Authority, Uganda), Nicholas Wadada (Vipers SC, Uganda), Godfrey Walusimbi (GorMahia, Kenya) and Hassan Wasswa (Al Nijmeh, Lebanon)

The midfielders are Khalid Aucho (Baroka FC, South Africa), Mike Azira (Colorado Rapids, the US), and Geoffrey Kizito (Than Quang Ninh, Vietnam).

Others are William Luwagga Kizito (Rio Ave, Portugal), Tony Mawejje (Throttur Reykjavik, Iceland), Moses Oloya (Ha Noi, Vietnam)

The forwards included Baroka FC, South Africa), Farouk Miya (Standard Liege, Belgium), Yunus Sentamu (Ilves Tampere, Finland) and Mohammed Shaban (Onduparaka, Uganda), and Geoffrey Sserunkuma (Kampala Capital City Authourity, Uganda).

503 total views, no views today